Online Courses Are Fun!

Hi, everyone.

So, with the time I’ve got on my hands, I figured I’d do some online courses through FurtureLearn and Coursera. If you haven’t tried these, you should. Pretty much anything you want to learn about, they’ve got a course for it. For you NaNopeeps, Coursera is partnering with Wesleyan College for a series starting in a couple weeks – you may have seen an email or FB post about it.

I just finished two on diabetes fundamentals and medieval magic. Right now I’m working on 2 on Coursera – Healing with the Arts, and De-mystifying Mindfulness. The art one has really helped with my writing and I’m diving into more creative pursuits like drawing and painting. Positive Psychology starts at the end of the month. I’m signed up for four others from 9/4 through the end of November on FutureLearn (Social Wellbeing, Heart Health, The Diabetes Epidemic, and Improve Your Cultural Competence – in that order).

Here’s a self-portrait I did for the art course using pastel pencils:

Journal2selfportrait

These courses are free, but some can be upgraded for a small fee to receive a certificate if you’re taking it for continuing education purposes (like for work) or want to do a specialization (like with the NaNo one, which we can supposedly do for free). If I come across one that I absolutely love, I’ll share it.

You can always go on the sites and search for the courses I’m taking if they sound interesting to you. Many will repeat. And, no, I’m not affiliated in any way with Coursera or FutureLearn other than taking the courses.

That’s basically it for now. Next week I’ll give y’all a writing update.

Have a great weekend!

This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

