A Year Can Bring So Much

Standard

Like most people, I’m thrilled 2016 is over.

Here’s a chronological breakdown of my year…

My daughter turned 18 at the end of March so I whirlwind-tripped to celebrate with her and my son. We ate out every day, went shopping and hit the movies. Basically the kids skipped school so we could hang out and spend time together. It was a great trip.

Two weeks after getting back we moved into a three-bedroom, 2.5 bath townhouse. The kitchen is adorable and we’ve turned this place into a real home. It’s a great place with room to move around. Small, quiet neighborhood and closer to our jobs. Our landlord is nice and our neighbor shares food he makes. It’s a win-win.

On May 15th my mom passed away. I went back up and took care of all her affairs, cleaned out her apartment and handled it very business-like. It’s finally hitting me, eight months later, I mean really hitting me, that she’s gone. I went through all the stages one goes though and have apparently saved the actual sad part of grief for now. We all process loss differently.

My boyfriend’s mom and sister came down and spent a few days with us in early June. He entertained them while I worked and we all took a day trip to New Orleans (a bittersweet experience). It was wonderful having them here, getting to know them. I hope they make the trip, again.

Somehow we both managed to get the week of Thanksgiving off so we drove up to St Louis to see his mom and sister. It was awesome – in the truest sense of the word. We visited the Arch and rode it to the top, hit the zoo and accidently attended Mass at the St Louis Cathedral Basilica (the Cardinal was in town!). Words cannot express the beauty in that church. The whole trip was great and I can’t wait for the next time.

I have thanked my man more than once for sharing his mom amd sister with me.

Work has kept me on my toes. We “lost” a store manager and 3 associates in a six-week period. Then another manager was in a major car accident and out for 11 days. Needless to say I’ve been busy at work. Last month I had 6 days off – 1 of them was Christmas (whole company was closed). Things will be changing on this front this year. Probably going full time, supposedly getting a cost-of-living raise, and potentially spending 1 day a week visiting stores in my area as an unofficial in-house auditor.

Writing was quite non-existent. I wrote very little; just didn’t have it in me. I’m a supporter of writing to facilitate healing, and I totally need to take my own advice, but I don’t know where to start.

Which brings me to goals for 2017…

  • Write more.
    • Actually finish one of my WIPs and prep it for publishing at the end of the year.
  • Get healthy and hopefully lose some weight.
    • Make better food choices – first up: no chips! 
    • Get back into yoga and meditation.
  • Be out in the world more (ASA membership and council participation will help satisfy that part).
  • Develop my spiritual path more deeply (ASA, again).
  • Read more.
    • Fiction, nonfiction, whatever. I just need to read.
  • If it doesn’t make me happy, it goes away. Life is too damn short to fill my life with bullshit. Basically, I’m going to drink my own kool-aid.

Oh, and I turned 40 last month!

    Let 2017 be amazing!

    Leave a Reply

