A Mini Writing Retreat for One, Please

We’ve all heard about writing retreats. They’re usually hosted on a sprawling ranch or at some seaside resort,  and attended by large group of people.

Not your scene? Yeah, mine, either.

Enter the Solo Writing Retreat.

For me, joining – and staying with – a writing group is a bit daunting. I want to do it, but at the same time I don’t dare to really let myself fully participate. Basically, how I feel about joining the local Pagan group applies, here, too. Funny enough, I got the idea for the solo writing retreat from a book called The Magickal Retreat, the author whom I forget and am currently too lazy to look up.

I adapted a shorter format, roughly 4h, from the book to work for my writing. And you know what?

It friggin’ worked. Really well.

I grabbed the first draft and all notes – including brainstorming – of “Rising” and sat down for nearly 4h. Accompanying me was the entire office supply aisle from Wal-Mart. And the cat. She thought she was helping.

So today I did what I should have right along: made progress on the project. Of course, I discovered it needs almost a total gut job. Or at least a damn thorough remodeling.

Note to self: Take photos next time.

Because there will be a next time. Today felt good.

I behaved like an actual writer.

This entry was posted in Writing Updates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Mini Writing Retreat for One, Please

  1. It’s great to see you again! Sorry I haven’t been around to visit. Wonderful to hear you’re getting on with your writing. Let me know when you have something for me to share on Book Tuesday. I’d love to feature your work. 😀

  2. nicholeqw1023 says:

    A writing retreat for one sounds absolutely amazing! I’m glad you got some writing done. ☺

Leave a Reply

