“Wildlife”

image

Back in May we went to Zoosiana for M’s company picnic. I met people he works with, had an authentic crawfish boil and checked out the zoo. Now, I’d been to aquariums but never a zoo. Do petting zoos at the fair count?

About 3 exhibits in, it became abundantly clear that I’m never going to another zoo. Ever. I’ll never work at a zoo in any capacity, either. Take at look at this big beauty below. This, right here, is why I can’t go back. I’d get arrested for freeing the animals.

image

I can understand the fascination humans have with exotic animals they otherwise wouldn’t see if not for zoos. I get it. But I could feel their unhappiness radiating like heat in the desert. Especially these 2 who were practically melting in the Louisiana heat and humidity. Or the 15 foot snake curled up in a tiny-ass plexi box. We skipped almost half the zoo because I was getting so pissed off and depressed. I was still sick, too, so there’s that.

image

Our apartment is larger than most of the enclosures, but you’d never know it by observing my own resident wildlife.

image

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

