Book Review: ‘Darkening Dawn’

Rob Cornell’s Darkening Dawn (2015) is book 5 in the Lockman Chronicles series.

I’ve read all 5 books but, as much as I love Cornell’s style, I couldn’t help but feel Darkening Dawn was necessary to the series itself. Does that make sense? Probably not. It’s hard to explain and I can’t really give too many details without revealing the premise of the entire series.

Sigh…ok, let me try.

You’ve got Craig Lockman, the MMC of the series. There’s also his daughter, Jessie. That poor girl has been through the wringer over the books: becomes a vamp and host to an evil soul. Not even the half of it. Then there’s the Agency they work for. But this particular installment of the Chronicles is bent more on revenge – and another soul-sucking attempt – thanks to Jessie’s power to send supernaturals back to their home worlds.

Sorry, that’s the best I can do.

Oh! And there’s unicorns.

When it comes down to it, if I had to make a suggestion on this, I’d almost either read 1-4 without 5, or begin with 5 as a prologue to 1-4. And if you decide to start at 1, be prepared for anger at the end of 4. Trust me.

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

