Wednesday Wish Day

Standard

It’s my first free day in a week. What do I do?

I caught up on dvr’d shows and played Diablo: Reaper of Souls for about 45 mins. Then, I checked out that new SyFy show Olympus – don’t bother; it’s not that good. Out of the blue, creativity sort of struck. I’ve spent the last couple of hours roughing out a handful of story ideas, came up with over a dozen titles and character names, and am now considering a bubble bath. But that will have to wait, I think.

Today is Earth Day, too. In my mind I’m celebrating. It’s kind of nice just to sit still and not have to go anywhere or do anything. Tomorrow I’ve got some errands to run, though, and I might include the library. I definitely need to get some writing done regardless of my out-n-abouts. Perhaps I’ll take my writing stuff?

Which leads me to my CampNaNo progress. Eh. I have some words. At this point the only material written will be for one of the new story ideas. I’m burned out on Rising and the other WIPs. I can’t help but realize that once I get to the end and do the content editing, I can barely think of stuff to fill in the gaps. And I wonder if I’m cut out for writing anything over 10-15k words. Honestly, I don’t know how I wrote Timing. So, here’s what I’m thinking…

Stick to short stories. Nothing outside 10-15k. I’ve figured out that’s my average before I start losing oomph and ideas on a single story idea.

Plus, if there are similar stories I can always do a collection without planning for it. That’s another revelation.

I plan and plan and plan. Most of the time I fail, get all sad and then don’t want to write. I’m giving it up to the Creatives, now. They have the con and will nudge me when the time is right.

In the mean time, I’m going to just chill out, watch Food Network and tumble some story ideas around. Maybe flesh one out enough for an outline. Who knows?

Leave a Reply

