Editing Central, and Other Writing Tidbits

Standard

Happy Wednesday, darlings.

So, here’s the gist with writing…I’m editing Rising as we speak. It is EdMo, after all, right? This poor project has been in the works for about 2-1/2 years and is in need of some serious love.

Somewhere along the line, I thought changing up the PoV would be fun. No. And, apparently I dabbled with tense. It’s a hideous combo of first-person-current and third-person-past. Yeah, I don’t know, either. The worst part is these aren’t abrupt changes. Like, I didn’t decide halfway through to have it third-person-past. No, no. It’s every other scene and/or chapter. Clearly, step 1 has been cleaning up that mess.

Which leads me to basically a whole dynamic switch. Not the relationship between main characters, but how the story develops. It’s been a few months since I last looked at Rising so there’s been revelations about motive, means, back story leaks, etc.

I also need to write the blurb, format and get cover art. And I need to do it in 20 days. Well, 19. Less, if you consider that most of this is getting done on my days off.

Here’s the other thing. When I first decided to write, this project was my first idea and outline. I’ve learned a lot since then and I’m hoping to bring that knowledge to the table when I publish on the 31st. *fingers crossed*

I’m also in research mode with VC. Again. Or, still. It’s difficult to write a multi-generational fantasy set in forever ago times when it’s based on the Wheel of the Year. Eight stories, each with their own underlying theme, coming together in a flawless collection. My ideas for this keep changing, which sucks. For example, I just had the idea it could be a giant prologue to the Bayou Project – which is also sorta multi-generational fantasy. They’re each their own thing, of course, but I’m kinda diggin’ the theme. I just need to nail down the plans for this, because it’s going live on December 1.

Thankfully, there’s 2 rounds of CampNaNo and NaNoWriMo to look forward to!

For now, though…one thing at a time.

Mostly.

Leave a Reply

