The Working Life

Last week was crazy. Just…crazy. This week is shaping up to be about the same, I think. Such is the way of The Working Life.

Now, I haven’t had a “real job” in nearly 3 years, so I’m quite rusty. That being said, I nailed yesterday’s first hands-on training day.

Let me back up.

Last week I did 40 hours of computer training. Policies and procedures, operating systems and platforms. By the time I got out Friday night, my brain was fried and living under a filing cabinet in the back room of the store. Thankfully I had the weekend to fret and stew over the failure yesterday was doomed to be. I’m equally thankful it didn’t go that way.

So, yesterday. I almost think the string of customers and their various transactions were planned to give me a good work out. We had a move-out, a change is reservation, a new reservation, a unsecured space, someone left their key in the lock, and people came in and paid. I mean, it was just too perfect to be a coincidence. Did I screw up? No, but I did have to ask several questions because certain things weren’t covered last week.

And, I honest with my manager about that. There was so much info shoveled at me – some too broadly, some not at all, some too intensely – I wasn’t sure I’d be able to handle the job. But, I think I got it.

Tomorrow is a regional meeting thing…in Beaumont, TX. Leaving at 7:15a and getting back around 6p. Thursday is another hands-on training day. Friday off – I’ll be posting. Saturday is h-o training. Sunday…should be interesting. Sunday I’ll be solo at an unfamiliar store. At this point, I think I’ll be okay. Fingers and toes crossed that I’m able to pull it off. Also, still waiting for name tag and shirts. I’ve been wearing “good office clothes”.

Oh! One thing I’m proud of about yesterday: The cash drawer came out right and I got to make the night deposit.

But…there’s always a ‘but’, isn’t there? I have my schedule for the rest of the month, so I need to go through my planner today and rearrange everything. It’s that, or buy a new planner and start from scratch – something I really don’t want to do. However, my OCD is screaming so I must appease it.

I hope everyone’s having a great week? Or at least a good one?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

