It’s Prep Time – NaNo2014 Here I come!

Standard

Enter ‘The Bible’, aka my planner book. This handy dandy beauty will keep me/us sane for the next 30-odd days. It contains a chore list, group write-in dates and times, daily word goals and so much more. There were highlighters and sticky notes involved. Like, many. I’ve worked out a pretty air-tight blogging schedule (which have been/are being written ahead of time), too, and it’s in pen. All goals and tasks are in pen this month.

The coffeemakers. Yes, we have 2 of them: a Keurig and standard brew style. With 2 coffee addicts in the house, we always have coffee on hand. The Keurig pulls double duty, too. Quick hot water for teas, cup-a-noodles, oatmeal. All that.

The crockpot. Enough said.

IMG_0306The wall over my desk – more sticky notes.

Incense and/or scented candles.

There is an outline, but how tightly the characters stick to it is a whole other thing. Right now, the Bayou Project has a beginning and an end (sorta). The dynamic changed somewhere so the middle can be whatever it decides to be. On NaNoWriMo it’s listed as magical realism, but the end takes on a very fantastical feel. It wasn’t on purpose, either.

Fresh air. It’s a necessity when one’s cooped up in a room alone with a computer for hours on end, day after day. Thankfully, Mike will make sure I go outside once in a while – in addition to the write-ins, because those don’t count. It’s just a different inside writing place. There’s a conflict, here, though. Every Saturday is an 8-hour write-in. Saturday is Adventure Day. We could do AD in the mornings, then he could dump me at the library for a few hours. Yeah, that’s probably what will happen.

A reward system, of sorts. If I hit my daily goal, I get a tiny Hershey bar. A reward hasn’t been established if I win, though, but I’m thinking a Gilmore Girls Netflix marathon. With popcorn.

With NaNo just over a week away, it’s good to have (other) goals and a support system in place. I have other goals attached to the challenge and a fantastic support system. One of the goals is to get back on some sort of routine. I’ve been saying this for months, I know. With routine comes better sleep, inspiration and creativity. Plus, I’ll feel better overall.

I might mention getting a giant dog bed for the office, for naps. You know, for those frenzied writing nights where I just can’t stop but I need to, but can’t manage to drag myself one room over? So much easier to fall out of the chair and land on a squishy pillow thing.

Tonight is the NaNo kick-off at the library. I’m excited, nervous, anxious, happy, terrified. Basically, I feel about the write-in as I feel about NaNo itself. New city, new people.

So I guess that’s it. That’s my NaNo2014 prep. How are you getting ready?

10 responses »

    • Thats the uncluttered, no coffee cup or ashtray version. Give it a week and it will look a whole lot different, lol. Good luck to you as well! If you need any pointers feel free to hit me up. 🙂

      • Lol, its almost cliche isnt it? We all have “that” image of the writer holed up, chugging gallons of coffee and nearly chainsmoking. Add pjs and thats me during NaNo!

        Halfway through I’m going to do an update on my progress and include another desk shot. Game to share yours?

      • Darn tooting! If not tonight, tomorrow! And I promise I won’t “clean up” before. Heh, I wonder if I’ll have the opposite reaction and end up with a clean desk at the end of November! LOL. 🙂

Leave a Reply

