Review: Gateway to Nifleheim vol 1

Gregg G Thater is the author.

It took me awhile to read this. Full of Norse mythology (plus), it is set in a word of dwarves and other creatures. Honestly, I didn’t quite understand what creatures they were. Some might have been humans, I don’t know.

There were underdog characters, as well as characters I’d hoped would perish quickly. Each story needs an asshole who is full of himself and unwilling to concede most, or any, points. He’s right, and everyone else is stupid. We need someone to hate. What’s sad is, in this particular book, I wasn’t wishing for the demise of the enemy – the Hel creatures – but instead this one character. As soon as he opened his mouth, I said “Yup, he needs to go”. Unfortunately, he didn’t die until near the book’s end.

As far as the actual writing goes, Thater did well executing dialogue and created a hell of a setting. Very descriptive and well-thought out, the whole story is unique. A group of creature-beings come under attack by an evil race of hell spawn and break through the gates to wreak havoc on the inhabitants of that particular plain. As I said, it’s rooted deeply in Norse mythology. I’m not going to get into all that, but I will say this: if you’re into Odin and Thor, etc, then by all means check this book out.

If you’re not, don’t read this. It plays too heavily on the mythology to separate the two. Even with it’s unique characters, setting and storyline it is too…involved. I will admit, Thater gives each character his own sense of humanity. And, I do mean “his”. There are no speaking women in this book.

I hate to say it, but I won’t be reading further into the series.

3 stars for the mythology and writing.

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review: Gateway to Nifleheim vol 1

  1. Jay Dee says:

    I read and reviewed the novella version of this story. I’m wondering which character you wanted to die right away. The wizard Par Tanch or the gnome Ob?

Leave a Reply

