Blending of Two Worlds

While in Barnes & Noble on Thursday, I found a book in the Reference section called Tarot for Writers by Connie Kenner. It hadn’t occurred to me until that moment I could use the cards I have in my writing. Not sure why, given I’d used numerology for my characters to better understand who they are. I’ve also used rune stones to decide the theme of a scene for the day’s writing session. Basically, writers can use the tarot to gain inspiration from the cards themselves (scene description, etc) or do an actual spread to determine an event’s outcome. In fact, an entire story could be dictated by an elaborate spread. Here’s a pic of the cards I use…

IMG_0208

With many of my stories taking a Pagan/Wiccan direction, this is a wonderful solution to those times where my imagination has been less than helpful. And there are times like those. The cards are very detailed like the the book’s cover, so finding words to describe a setting won’t be difficult. For those of you who are unfamiliar with tarot, each card has a meaning. The meaning of the card largely depends on its placement within a spread, as well as the placements of other cards and their meanings. Tarot is really cool, I think, and would be a valuable tool in any writer’s toolbox. Sets range from basic to extreme in terms of both price and design. I’d recommend a simple and inexpensive set for someone new to tarot. Note: I’m not trying to convert anyone. Just sharing a tool.

Once things are finalized with The Graces, and I’m working on other WIPs again, I’ll test drive this idea and share my results with you. If any of you have already done this, please share your experiences in the comments. I’d love to hear about it.

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Blending of Two Worlds

  1. A. L. Park says:

    Tarot is such a great tool, I love to pull three cards for each char. Who they were, who they will be, how they get there. It is a wonderful exercise in getting the creativity flowing!!

  2. MainerChick says:

    Tarot & runes as well as others are just added to our package of tools to help us. Glad you found some inspiration within them. I use mine for multiple things. 🙂

    • jmlibby says:

      Like I said, I just hadn’t thought of using tarot for writing. I saw the book and it was like a lightbulb appeared over my head, followed by a real loud “Duh!”

Leave a Reply

