Challenges, Word Counts and Goals

Standard

This past weekend was the WriYe 5k. Choose from one of three goals, and if you win it’s mostly bragging rights or a cute little badge. I chose the smallest goal – 2500 words for the 48h period – and I managed to eek out just over 2600. And there’s one more WriYe challenge on the 29th (for April) lining up with the New Moon.

Now, I have a question for you. I changed the word count goal of 25k to 20k for Camp NaNo based on the existing content and what was left of VC to be written. Does that make me a cheat or bad person?

I’m not fluffing my count with anything. The content is pure VC.

Here’s what happened.

I started VC during NaNoWriMo as a side project because ‘Rising” was being uncooperative, and have worked on it off and on since. The only positive on that is I got to know the characters. But. That’s a double-edged sword. I got to know them so well, I limited them. Then, I lost touch with them with all the traveling I’ve been doing. My original plan was to have it rough drafted by 4/30 then all edits complete in May while working on other projects, and ready for KDP by mid-June. That very well could happen, but it will be much shorter than I anticipated.

Which means I’m finding myself at that same old crossroads. Do I publish VC as a standalone, or part of an anthology of sorts? I just don’t know.

How do you know what’s right for your stories? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

