How “out there” am I?

Standard

Gasp! Another early post!

First off, I got some writing done today. Yay! Viktic Crossing‘s ending is developing and then I can go in and fill up gaps and expand on anything questionable.

Second, going through the various writing sites/groups I belong to has led me to realize something: I’m too “out there”, but not in the right places. Well, some of them are right but mostly my social media presence is mish-mashed. I’ve got this blog, Indie Writer’s Net, Twitter, WriYe, Amazon Author account, a tumblr account (untouched for awhile) and a few other weird little things.

This epiphany blasted me as I was checking out some of the blogs/sites I hit up on a fairly regular basis. Sure, I’ve talked about this before. Today was different. Today, I thought about a real website. By “real” I mean mine. I don’t own this blog, just the content on it. And, yes, there is a difference. WordPress could decide I suck. toss me into the underworld and jmlibby.wordpress.com would cease to exist. If I owned it, I’d have paid money to keep it going and only the platform (WordPress) would be “rented”, so to speak.

The majority of the big name authors have a real website (go ahead and Google one). Granted, I’m not one of them (yet) but it would be nice to have everything in one place all neat and tidy. And for those of you who’ve been reading me for awhile will remember I talked about getting a new email address…yeah, that hasn’t happened yet. Soon. Gotta have that so I can create the FB page.

It comes down to a couple questions: How visible do I want/need to be? How accessible do I want/need to be?

The answer to both is very. I want people to be able to find me across the big social media sites, and I want them to be able to reach me without jumping through Barnum & Bailey hoops. I’m not unreachable now, and I don’t want to be in the future. Visibility and approachability equal interest, which in turn (in a perfect world) creates book sales. I’m thrilled with the sales I’ve already generated (thank you!), but I’d obviously like to sell more. Rarely do people get into this business “just because”. There’s a purpose, a goal. I have those.

I just need to be more “out there”.

 

Leave a Reply

