Progress!

Standard

This week has been really productive, and I’m hoping to continue the streak. I got some work done for “Rising”, EQ and Viktic Crossing, and I think that maybe I can actually make them decent. They’re…okay…as they are right now. But, yesterday I got to thinking about how to make them better. Basically what I did was play a round or three of “What if” with the three stories.

Like, I went over the character map/family tree for EQ and reorg’d it. The primary relationships stayed in place, however, I thought about who to kill off and which new relationships would emerged. Hell, I even created a new character so one of them wouldn’t be alone after the big event happened. He might stay alone, who knows.

With Viktic Crossing I thought about the passing comments made by a couple characters in regards to past relationships of the two main characters and decided they needed expansion. For example, Adara is dead set against taking up with the Viking, but claims it’s because of her clan’s traditions. Her closest friend knows otherwise and says as much. And the Viking has a past of his own, so I think I might make that the reason she leaves before the raiding season starts.

I may have said this before: “Rising” has so many possibilities for direction, it’s hard to just pick one or even two. The framework is there, and as it stands the story is almost done. It needs a few more scenes, but damn. I could make this story go on forever. Of the male characters I’ve written, I think Steve is the only one with less than good intentions who ends up turning around and making things right.

And that gets me thinking about my favorite characters. The Viking is tied with Daniel for top spot. Sigh…Daniel. He’s so yummy. You know how people will do a fantasy cast if a book is turned into a movie? My choice for Daniel is Jeffrey Dean Morgan (John Winchester on Supernatural, among other roles). Big floaty hearts, omg. Dude would look good covered in grease or a tux. Or a greasy tux. Hell, he’s just perfect. And I could totally see him in a fist fight with my choice for Louis – Amaury Nolasco (Sucre from Prison Break). It wouldn’t be nearly as…effective…as the Dwayne Johnson/Vin Diesel fight scene in Fast Five, but it would be damn close.

As far as female characters, I really haven’t thought about it. I wouldn’t want super famous actresses, though. And certainly none of those Disney teenie chiks for the parts of Sadie and her friends. No way. They all look like coked-out Brat dolls. Eyes popping and heads too big for their bodies. No. I’d want normal looking girls, with normal sized heads and eyes.

I digress.

Lately, Hello has hit a bit too close to home. I’ve put that project on the back burner until I feel comfortable with it, again. It’s fairly interesting, though. “Love Letter to An Alcoholic” remains the top-read original content I’ve posted. And it’s been Googled and Yahoo’d by people in several countries, which just amazes me. It goes to show that alcoholism affects everyone in any social class in any culture. If anything, recent experiences should have prompted me to work on this project further, but I just don’t have it in me right now.

I guess that’s it for now. Maybe I’ll have an excerpt for you on Sunday. I know I need to post those for y’all, again. Until then, have a great rest of the week and thank you for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

