Hello, December!

Standard

Hello, everyone! NaNoWriMo is officially OVER! Let the drooling and brain melting slow as we reacquaint ourselves with our families, friends and the real world.

I did not win NaNoWriMo2013. And that’s ok. Too many of the usual excuses got in the way, and I’ll not bore you with them. Lessons were learned this year, and they’ll be incorporated, in a way, to hopefully win in 2014. We’ll see. What’s the worst that can happen? I don’t get a cool Winner’s Badge. *shrug* Moving on!

So, I mentioned the other day that I’d be discussing writing plans for the month. There’s a lot going on! In amongst the holidays and birthdays and shopping both entail, plus the kids’ basketball games, December is a jam-packed month, for sure.

Priority #1: Find a new writing arrangement – tomorrow. This little table is cute and effective, but there have been a few nights where script meds have been required for back pain. I get all fuzzy and feel like caterpillars have invaded my mouth but hey. I’m not going to knock it. The meds work and that’s all I care about.

Priority #2: Finish the final final final alterations on Timing. December 19 is, as of right now, P-Day. With it taking up to 24 hours for the link to go live, I’ll be handling all the uploading and stuff on the 18th. I’m having trouble with the cover, though. While I like the “free” imagines out there and the publisher’s templates, I had my heart set on creating my own cover with a photo I took. So far, that’s not working out. I may have to resign myself to the templates available, as much as I don’t want to. A lousy cover can turn a reader off pretty quick. And if I’m not happy with the cover, I don’t expect potential readers to be either.

Priority #3 is finish the first draft of “Rising”. With not making word count for NaNo, and my renewed interest in the story, it needs to be finished. The plan right now is 1k/day until I hit 60k. The story has great potential and it could go in so many ways. I just didn’t have it in me during NaNo.

Priority #4: I will also work on “Untitled” and start planning for the Samson and Delilah-esque piece.

Priority #5: Clean out my personal library. I know, it’s blasphemous to consider getting rid of books, but I need the space and the local library could use some new material.

I’ve taken each day of the month, accounting for holidays/birthdays/game nights/taxi duties/vacations and mapped out December pretty good. There aren’t many days I’m not “working”, like Lil Dude’s birthday and Christmas, so it’s looking like a very productive month. I’ve set aside the 30th-1st to enjoy time with my family (got movie dates with them planned) and once the kids go back to school, the 2nd and 3rd I’m not doing anything. Going to give myself a couple days to reboot and debug from a crazy couple of months.

The final post of 2013 will be on December 29, so that post will kinda be like reminiscing over the last year and a rough plan for 2014. Wow, 2014…time doesn’t just fly when you’re having fun; it flies when life gets crazy, too, and shit sneaks up on you. Like a new year looming ahead. I’ve already got some ideas floating and a notebook going for projects I might work on. They’re all organized in traditional style with sticky notes in case they stay “just” ideas.

Remember back in October when I bought the planner refills? Well, let’s just say I need a bigger one. Especially one that offers larger areas to plan for weekend days. Sundays may not be big event days for some, but when one keeps track of everything – including food and drink consumed – a large space is necessary. I’m not finding a planner layout that I like, so I may end up creating and printing my own and using a 3-ring binder. Office supply companies make a number of binder storage-y inserts that are super helpful. And, the more I think about it, the more I think that’s the route I will likely take. The more productive and anally organized route.

Each year I tell myself I’ll be the Organization Goddess and 2014 will be no exception. But, more on that in four weeks.

And on that note, I’m going to go chill and watch some football, and get a bunch of house stuff done during commercials. I hope everyone had a wonderful and safe holiday week!

Leave a Reply

