Happy Birthday!

Standard

Happy Birthday to Trials and Tribulations! We’re a whole YEAR old today! And Happy Thanksgiving, too! And a freakin’ HUGE shout out to the Detroit Lions for an EPIC Thanksgiving Day win over the Green Bay Packers! WOW! They hadn’t won a Turkey Day since 2003 and it had been yeeeears since they beat Green Bay. I may have hurt myself watching, and I don’t care – it was awesome!

Okay, back to writing!

What a year it has been! We’ve grown, had setbacks, grown some more. Blogging has been an invaluable experience for me on so many levels, and it’s because of my readers and my willingness to put myself out there that I keep it up. There have been periods of no hits, and periods of lots of hits. Thankfully, I don’t get too discouraged when nobody stops by.

I’ve learned what people like and what doesn’t catch their attention. It’s all about subject matter and delivery – I’m guilty of this myself when scrolling through the Reader each day. You enjoy primarily book reviews and original pieces I’ve written. Occasionally I’ll reblog something, and depending on your interests you swing by for that – the original author and myself thank you J

On the table, I’ve got 1 completed manuscript, 4 WIPS and an ass load of ideas. NaNo saw (and is still seeing) work done on “Rising” and the not-really-untitled “Untitled”. Cravings and Hello need more pieces added to them before even getting close to being ready for publication. Timing “still” needs tweaking before getting published next month. Yup, that’s right! If all goes according to plan *knock on wood* it will be up in time for my birthday, Christmas at the latest. As soon as I have the link and it goes live I’ll be affixing it here and blogging about the process of whichever platform I choose to use.

And once it’s officially published, I’m going to pull Timing excerpts off the blog. Trust me, the finished product will be better than what you’ve seen here. Lots of fine tuning has been going on behind the scenes to create a better read for everyone. I still can’t bring myself to read it “for fun”, yet, though. Does anyone else have that problem?

I was looking at the all-time stats the other day, and “Love Letter to An Alcoholic” remains the top-viewed original piece I’ve posted. It will stay here even after Hello is published – which is a ways off, yet.

There are dates in mind for the publishing of the WIPS, but getting them to that point by then is up in the air. Part of my problem is I’ve got too many ideas I want to explore, too many cross-genre interests to examine.

On December 1, I’ll be posting my final NaNo discussion piece of the year and laying out writing plans for December. I mentioned a few posts ago that I had 4 more Cravings pieces to share, so Sundays in December will feature those. As for mid-week posts…you’ll have to wait and see. Chances are they’ll be about the different WIPS and ideas I’ve had (including one along the lines of Samson and Delilah).

Also, I’m considering a change in the theme I use. There are some great looking ones but the customizability with them seems a) complicated or b) lacking. I can’t find a happy medium. Maybe I’m being too picky and just go with my gut when I peruse the themes again next week.

I’m interested in hearing about what you would like to see here.  2014 may take us in another direction so please comment below, email me directly or even hit me up on Twitter with your ideas.

YAY again for the LIONS!!

Leave a Reply

