Last Sunday of NaNo

Standard

Today saw the final local write-in for my NaNo group. Those of us there decided it may be fun to get together during EdMo in March and/or Camp in April. We’ll see J The Teen joined us, which was cool. I’m still woefully behind, but that’s alright. It’s the journey not the destination, right?

Since I haven’t posted an original piece for a while, I thought I’d give you a little taste of how “Rising” is coming along. Feel free to leave comments/questions/feedback/song lyrics…whatever you like. Oooo…song lyrics! I need to put together a playlist for this WIP, don’t I? Look for that in an upcoming post! For now, though, here’s a small excerpt of “Rising.” Enjoy!

*Angel shrugged. “You like what you like,” she murmured and continued checking things out. “Besides, it gives me quite an insight to why you are who you are and the way you behave in certain situations.” A smile played on her lips as she approached Steve with a set of black leather cuffs. “How many girls have you brought here?”

Steve’s eyes widened. “Oh, Angel, I don’t know if you want that kind of information,” he dodged and backed into the hallway. “Despite the rumors, I’m a very loyal guy and don’t hook up with just anyone.” He took the cuffs from her and put them back on their peg. “How about I show you my practice room?” He put his hand on the small of her back and ushered her down the hall to another door. It was identical to the one they just closed, but Angel could sense a whole different power coming from behind it.

Steve started to unlock it, but Angel stopped him.

“Wait.”

“What’s wrong,” he asked with concern.

“I don’t think I should go in there, Steve,” Angel whispered and turned to walk away.

He took her by the hand and cupped her cheek with the other.  “Hey, what’s wrong?” he asked gently, and pushed a few hairs behind her ear. “I won’t let anything bad happen to you.”

“It’s not me I’m worried about.”

Steve frowned and rubbed circles on the top of Angel’s hand with his thumb to soothe her. “It’s my room, babe. I go in here all the time.” He could see the doubt on her face and it went right to her eyes. “Hey, no no. We’ll be fine.” He smiled and kissed her nose. “Deep breaths, okay?”

Angel took several deep breaths and nodded. “Okay, I’m ready.”

Nodding, Steve released her hand and unlocked the door. When Angel entered, the force of power and beauty inside left her breathless. He took her hand again and felt her reaction’s energy flowing into him, shocking him. He knew she was powerful, but to manifest emotion-charged energy so easily? It shook him a little.*

Leave a Reply

