Halfway there, maybe. Another NaNo Update

Two weeks in and I’m stumped.

NaNo is crawling and I’m working on two different projects: “Rising” and “Untitled”. “Untitled” has a title but I’m keeping it under wraps for now – and it will be a shortish story until I have the proper time to add the necessary Viking and Celtic “particulars”. It’s at just under 2700 words, while “Rising” is around 11k. Slowly but surely. Motivation has been difficult, through nobody’s fault but my own. When I paused on “Rising” to pick up the other project, I went balls out with it. Now, I’m not so sure. The new project could write itself but I want perfection, and NaNo isn’t about perfection. It’s about getting shit done. I’ve kiiiinda got ulerior motives with this one, though. It’s loosely based on an idea I had thanks to several (I think borderline joking) texting convos with Cupcake…and Vikings on The History Channel.

Okay, I’ll tell you a bit about it.

Basically, there’s this older (40s) Viking guy who falls for this feisty and youngish (30s) Celtic priestess while raiding her village. Epic. Squee. After I developed the characters, I researched their spiritual health – I mean, who wouldn’t? – and they’re incredibly similar in many of the various astrologies. Western astrology and Chinese element are identical and he is the Yin to her Yang. The only thing that would have made it any more perfect was if they were the same animal in the Chinese Zodiac. I probably would’ve fallen over at that point, especially since I’m semi-modeling them after 2 real people. Sorta. I will say this, though: I accidentally gave them close birthdays. It was not my intention, but it does make sense. To make them even more “real”, I plan on running their numerology (’cause that’s how I roll) to get all the nitty gritty, ie temperment. etc. I think I’ve done a fair job of that, already, but hey. More couldn’t hurt, right?

This is where some of the aforementioned particulars come into play, too. I’ve got a book out on loan to someone which contains a TON of language regarding dress and weaponry that I need. I’m hoping he remembers to brig it to group on Sunday – I threatened him with death…in front of 3 people. And speaking of the local writing group: We’ve had 2 meetings so far and they went well. The first meeing saw 7, while the second saw 5. Eh, I’m just happy people came out. Food is a pretty good incentive. Hopefully, we’ll have more people this week coming.

OH! The Overnight Write-In I went to Sunday night was awesome, by the way! I met cool new people – both live and via Google hangouts – and got just over 3k words written. And, there were cats. Come on, who doesn’t love cats? Especially ones at write-ins? Also: pizza from Domino’s. Delivered. We don’t get delivery out here in EBF, let alone Domino’s!

I have to give it up for the people over at NaNo. They work so hard to keep everyone motivated with pep talks and the forums are always jumping with topic responses. It’s pretty neat, I gotta say. And the NaNo Maine FB group(s) is/are awwwwwesome! Wonderful bunch of suppove and motivational peeps. The motivation problem is all mine. Well, some of us share the problem but not collectively. Many of us, for one reason or 12, are struggling this year. It’s hard to write a novel and then verify the word count if you’re unable to type the thing (We have a homeless NaNoPeep). More than a few participants’ familes grew recently, and almost all of them hold down jobs.

Just looked at my NaNo dashboard and I’m about a week behind schedule. Not toooooo bad, I suppose. It could be a hell of a lot worse that’s for sure.

So how many of you are “doing” NaNoWriMo? Are you on track, behind, or ahead of the game? No matter where you are in the journey to the 30th, just remember: You tried. And that’s the important thing. Keep pecking away at it. You’ll – WE’LL – get there 🙂

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

