CampNaNo – Round 2!

Standard

It’s gonna be a KO this month! Who will win – Planner or Pantser?

About 3 days before CampNaNoWriMo opened cabins and the mess hall, I decided to pack my literary bags and join. On Sunday morning I decided to work on Rising, a piece I started last summer and got all of 800 words into. I spent the day asking the “what if” questions about the characters, worked on character bios and came away with almost 4 handwritten pages of notes. You’d have an easier time finding Waldo than deciphering this mess.

Days 1 & 2 brought me slightly ahead of the official “Where You Need to Be” in the word count goal chart on the Camp’s site (ha!), which makes me feel good since its almost the Holiday Weekend for us Americans. Today being Day 3, I expect to come out even further ahead. In fact, if all goes well I be a couple days in the black and not need to write until Saturday. Last Saturday our community was supposed to have its annual boat racing event, but thanks to fog it got moved to tomorrow (when it SHOULD be anyway – insert eye roll). I’ll likely be perched on the boat with notebook in hand, fleshing out possible scenes for Rising.

What is Rising about, you ask? Well, our MFC (Angel) witnesses a death and the company president, our MMC (Steve), offers her a promotion. Angel keeps feeling lightning and electrical pulses when she and Steve touch in any way, and it is revealed that he is a sorcerer. As it happens, Angel is a sorceress whose powers are latent due to a childhood trauma. Steve uses Angel and her powers for corporate takeovers. There’s the tug of Good vs Evil, and we have a showdown with an as yet Unknown Threat. I’m thinking its a guy with ties to both Angel and Steve. I’m using a combo of Discovery and Ascension/Descension plots here. Either way, its all very magic-y and tense. Also, doing first- and third-person narratives. Yes, I’m likely insane. But, hey, why not? By the end it could be one or the other. Anyway, that’s the gist of Rising. I’m sure it will change a million times between now and the end of the month.

Btw – it’s 6:30ish PM and I still haven’t written anything toward the WC. I have, however, managed to add more questions to the list. Now, the notes pages total is over 5.

Don’t forget to stop by on Sunday for Chapter 4 of Timing. Things are really starting to heat up for Eva and her family.

Questions/Comments/Suggestions always welcome 🙂

Leave a Reply

