Apocalyptic Reason – 2 Reviews

The following are reviews for Apocalypse Island by Mark Edward Hall, and Why by Michael Edward. I thoroughly enjoyed both books, and tucked into each review are the links to purchase via Amazon. And, I gave both of them 5 stars! Gasp!

Mark Edward Hall‘s Apocalypse Island

I had to read this book. Its set in a city in Maine (gasp! I live in Maine!) and there’s some funky stuff happening. People are dying all over town and nobody knows what’s causing all the mayhem. Well, no. That’s not entirely true…

A series of young women are being murdered and a fresh-from-prison Danny Wolf is the best suspect. He’s had relations with these women and not long after hooking up, they’re found mutilated. Here’s the kicker – He’s seeing the aftermath of the deaths through the eyes of someone else. The police force is after him, either because they think he’s guilty or they’re in on the conspiracy (or both). Laura Higgins – daughter of a deceased cop – is called in to investigate the murders. She falls for Danny in the process. There’s a huge supernatural element, as well. As far as plot goes, I can’t tell you anymore. I don’t want to blow it for readers.

Writing style is great. There’s plenty of action and a ton of dialogue between characters. At a couple points there were classic villain over explanations but those were necessary. Thought process realizations were at a minimum – a nice touch. Apocalypse Island is very much a “show, don’t tell” kind of book. The characters were well-defined and Portland was represented nicely. I happen to live about 4.5 hours up the coast from Portland, so I’d be lying if I said the book’s location didn’t influence my desire to read it. Plus, I live on an island.

Seriously, this book is awesome. A full 5 stars – I don’t give those out often. Its got the right blend of suspense, revelation, subtle hints, dialogue and asskickery. Also, a bit of a teaser, one of the lead detectives makes an appearance in another novel! Can’t wait for it to come out!

Why by Michael Edward

If you’re not familiar with Michael Edward’s work, this is a good way to cut your teeth. Why gives some serious insight to the author, his process and the development of the TBOTE Series. I’ve read the first four books in the series (my review here), plus a few other stories, and cannot wait for TBOTE Five & Six to be released. But, I digress.

This is possibly one of the hardest reviews I’ve written, yet. Why isn’t a work of fiction. Its an account of Edward’s life as seen through his writing process. Don’t let that fool or deter you. Reading it was almost addicting, especially if you’re used to his style of writing. I had to force myself to turn off the Kindle and go to sleep – “Just a couple more pages!” There are no chapter breaks in Why, only changes in subject. He moves from dreams/visions to memories and in-the-moment with little or no warning. And, that is by no means a negative. It keeps you guessing, and as Edward states at the end, they decided to keep it “raw” when they published. A very good move, in my opinion.

I really hope readers pick this up, because it is so intense and full of emotion. Unless you know this isn’t fiction, you’d think it was. It’s like, a writer writing about a writer. Gah, but its so much more than that! Just…go buy it and see what I mean, okay?

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

