NaNoEdMo 3 weeks in

At this point I’m not sure which has been more difficult: NaNoWriMo last November, or NaNoEdMo this month. For WriMo, it was 50k words in 30 days. Roughly 1,700 words per day. EdMo is 50h in 31 days at just under 1h40m per day. It can be done. Here’s my predicament, though…

I spaced on EdMo month and had it written down as February instead of March. About halfway through last month I realized I was very wrong, put editing Timing on hold and worked on EQ. It would seem Timing is an appropriate title.

This is my 6th pass through the manuscript and I’m still seeing mistakes. Some small, and some not so small. There is everything from the Name Game issue to gaps in plot and flipped scenes. Once I got through chapter 4, it was smooth sailing. That chapter was relentless and did not want to break. Currently I’m on chapter 11 (insert bankruptcy joke here) in the most intense round of editing yet. The last 3 chapters will be almost completely rewritten. Sue and I hashed out a more plausible reaction of a particular character to the Big Scene. Not only does it make more sense, it will be more satisfying for me and character in question.

Rewriting those last chapters will be difficult, but well worth it in the long run. It will count towards EdMo time and my WriYe goal of 300k. I don’t want to launch into discussion about WriYe, because the plan is still being fine-tuned.

This is sort of off-topic but fitting so I kinda have to laugh. There was an email this morning from a popular writing magazine that said “personal” blogging on a “professional” blog is bad. Bad bad! “Don’t do it!” the article said. Don’t write about the process and troubles you’re having. Give your readers excerpts and teasers. I’m sorry, Magazine Which Shall Not Be Named, I shall endeavor to not get personal on my semi-professional blog in the future. Yes, I rolled my eyes. Rant over.

I’m not sure yet what I’ll have for you next week. Possibly a before and after of a particular scene so you can get an idea of how dramatic the editing has gone. Have a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Excerpts and WIPs, General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNoEdMo 3 weeks in

  1. Pete Denton says:

    I’m editing at the moment and on the third run through. I know what you mean about changing things. This pass, I’ve deleted a couple of scenes and tinker, tinker, tinker. Sometimes you need to read and read and read to make sure you spot all the plot points. At least you are finding things, better than your reader finding them.

    Happy editing 🙂

Leave a Reply

