Love Letter to An Alcoholic

Standard

If I could give you one thing, it would be power.

Power to overcome your addiction, to understand how it affects the people who love you, to realize it’s hurting you. Power to take back the control which you have given, and give into, so willingly. Power to fight the voices tempting you. taunting you into submission.

If I could give you one thing, it would be acceptance.

Acceptance of the help others are willing to give. Acceptance of the love provided. Acceptance of the anger shown. Acceptance that this does not have a hold on just you.

If I could give you one thing, it would be knowledge.

Knowledge of how to break free from the addiction. Knowledge to change the behaviors. Knowledge to remove yourself from the situation which prompts the behaviors in the first place. Knowledge that despite the aggression and misplaced anger, you are loved.

Since I can’t give you those things, I give you the one thing I can…Love.

Love cuts through through the pain. Love is the one gift a person can give another, in spite of all the clutter and messiness. Love can overlook the drama. Love can win out.

You say “I’ll be better tomorrow. I promise.”

I know you will. If only for a little while…

 

Leave a Reply

